Announcing the 2024-2025 VS Code for Education Advisory Board Cohort

We are thrilled to announce the latest members to join the Advisory Board for Visual Studio Code for Education: a diverse group of visionary educators who are at the forefront of computer science instruction. These esteemed educators bring with them a wealth of experience and a shared commitment to excellence in computer science education. Their insights and expertise are invaluable as we continue to develop Visual Studio Code for Education - a platform created by educators, for educators.

Our next cohort of board members will continue to play a pivotal role in shaping the future of this innovative platform, ensuring that it remains responsive to the dynamic needs of both teachers and students in computer science. Through their collaboration, we are able to refine and enhance our offerings, making coding more accessible and engaging for learners everywhere. As we welcome these educators, we also celebrate the profound impact that educators have on the development of Visual Studio Code for Education, driving us closer to our goal of empowering every student with the skills needed to thrive in a digital future.

Please join us in welcoming our 2024-2045 cohort of Advisory Board educators:

  • Austin Cory Bart, University of Delaware :balloon: (@acbart)
  • Andy Christensen, Tesla STEM High School
  • Michael Fine, La Costa Canyon High School
  • Tiffany Jones, Global Impact Academy
  • George Lias, Chancellor High School :balloon: (@glias)
  • Randy Macdonald, Corvallis and Crescent Valley High Schools :balloon: (@randychs)
  • Alex McKinstry IV, FWCS Career Academy :balloon: (@a_mckinstry)
  • Lisa Miller, Medford Vocational Technical High School :balloon: (@lisa_peter)
  • Amy Pezzoni, Enochs High School :balloon: (@pezzoni.a)
  • Angel Rivera, Utica University
  • Kelly Swiryn, Castle View High School :balloon: (@kswiryn)

A :balloon: symbol indicates that the Advisor is serving a second term on the Advisory Board.

Wrapping up our 2022-2023 cohort of the Visual Studio Code for Education Advisory Board, we’re grateful to each of the founding cohort of the Advisory Board alumnus members. They met monthly with the VS Code for Education team, provided feedback, insights, and perspectives on CS education, including student motivation, assessment, educator efficacy, learning science, challenges with CS curriculum and learning pathways for student success:

  • Solomon Boucher – Sewickley Academy; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Rae Danielson – Spartansburg County School District #6; Inman, South Carolina
  • Sonia Fereidooni – University of Washington; Mountain View, California
  • George Lias – Spotsylvania County Public Schools; Fredericksburg, Virginia
  • Randy Macdonald – Corvallis High School; Corvallis, Oregon
  • Melinda Mansouri – Jordan Academy for Technology, North Campus; South Jordan, Utah
  • Alexander McKinstry IV – Fort Wayne Community Schools Career Academy; New Haven, Indiana
  • Lisa Miller – Medford Vocational Technical High School; Medford, Massachusetts
  • Amy Pezzoni – Enochs High School; Modesto, California
  • Kelly Swiryn – Douglas County School District; Parker, Colorado
1 Like